米马尔·希南和土耳其的建筑奇遇

土耳其拥有丰富的历史遗产,它是历史上有着最富戏剧性的建筑历程的国家之一。因为土耳其经历了多种文明的洗礼,并且深受东西方建筑的影响,它通过结合不同的建筑风格,产生了新的综合体,从而为该国积累了丰富的建筑经验。在土耳其的建筑中可以清晰地发现罗马、希腊、塞尔柱王朝、阿拉伯、土耳其、奥斯曼、德国和美国等国建筑风格的影子,土耳其以一种引人注目的方式为她的访客呈现出在建筑艺术领域及对生活方面的整体影响。土耳其是一众建筑多元化国家当中的一员。

米马尔·希南和土耳其的建筑奇遇

土耳其拥有丰富的历史遗产,它是历史上有着最富戏剧性的建筑历程的国家之一。因为土耳其经历了多种文明的洗礼,并且深受东西方建筑的影响,它通过结合不同的建筑风格,产生了新的综合体,从而为该国积累了丰富的建筑经验。在土耳其的建筑中可以清晰地发现罗马、希腊、塞尔柱王朝、阿拉伯、土耳其、奥斯曼、德国和美国等国建筑风格的影子,土耳其以一种引人注目的方式为她的访客呈现出在建筑艺术领域及对生活方面的整体影响。土耳其是一众建筑多元化国家当中的一员。

尤其是爱琴海和地中海地区遍布古希腊建筑的典范;古城以弗所建于公元前3年希腊时期的大剧院,以及世界七大奇迹之一阿耳忒弥斯神庙是必去的建筑遗址。在每个区域都可以发现古罗马帝国初期、晚期建筑的痕迹。穹顶和拱门,罗马建筑这两大典型的特征展示了当时最先进的工程技术。因此,每年都会有大批游客参观这些于数千年前建造的巨型建筑物。安那托利亚最宏伟的建筑是建在山腰的雄伟的SüMele修道院。但毫无疑问,罗马建筑最精巧最宏伟的典范在伊斯坦布尔。圣索菲亚大教堂、教堂地下水宫、瓦伦斯水道桥和竞技场是其中举办大型活动的中心之最重要的几个作品。

在另一方面,奥斯曼时代的建筑深受罗马和塞尔柱王朝建筑的影响。奥斯曼清真寺的穹顶结构和整体结构所保留的罗马建筑而非阿拉伯清真寺的痕迹,被定格在圣索菲亚大教堂;塞尔柱建筑最精巧的典范可以在中安那托利亚和中亚突厥建筑中找到。

 

当人们说起奥斯曼式建筑,想到的第一个人就是米马尔·希南,他是过去少数拥有最为精巧的作品的建筑师之一。凭借着他的工程能力以及审美理解力,米马尔·希南成功地建造起多处超越他所处时代的帝国最重要的建筑,且以伊斯坦布尔的 Süleymaniye清真寺最为知名。在他的成熟期,他最精巧的作品是位于埃迪尔内的塞利米耶清真寺。相较于西方的米开朗基罗而言,米马尔·希南是无价之宝,其奥斯曼建筑因他所使用的半圆穹顶、坚实的圆柱、将圆顶换成方形、六角形、八角形,以及他运用在室内设计中的艺术造诣为世界所知晓。

土耳其共和国对于建筑的理解始于1923年,不仅萌发自奥斯曼的遗迹,其根源也可以追溯到很久以前西化的影响。因此,共和国的早期建筑深受奥斯曼、德国和奥地利的启发。共和国时期的建筑在传统和现代、东方和西方、宗教和世俗的影响之间发展,在建筑师Kemalledin和 Vedat Tek的领导下,土耳其新古典主义风格得以发展。1920年代,这些建筑师深化了德国和奥地利对其的影响,特别在30年代和40年代能够非常强烈地感受到这些影响;到50年代至70年代,本地的建筑风格才真正得以发展起来,并且在1980年之后,主要在私营部门的领导之下,出现了后现代风格的影响。

Mimar Sinan and Turkey’s Adventure with Architecture

Having a rich historical heritage, Turkey is among the countries where the course of architecture throughout history can be most dramatically seen. Having hosted various civilizations and having been influenced greatly by both Eastern and Western architecture, achieving new synthesis by combining different architectural style,s has resulted in an expansive architectural experience for the country. Turkey, where Roman, Greek, Seljuk, Arabic, Turkish, Ottoman, German and American architectural influences can be clearly seen, offers architectural art fields and its overall impact on life in a striking way to her visitors. Turkey is among the countries that offer a wide range of architectural diversity.

Mimar Sinan and Turkey’s Adventure with Architecture

Having a rich historical heritage, Turkey is among the countries where the course of architecture throughout history can be most dramatically seen. Having hosted various civilizations and having been influenced greatly by both Eastern and Western architecture, achieving new synthesis by combining different architectural style,s has resulted in an expansive architectural experience for the country. Turkey, where Roman, Greek, Seljuk, Arabic, Turkish, Ottoman, German and American architectural influences can be clearly seen, offers architectural art fields and its overall impact on life in a striking way to her visitors. Turkey is among the countries that offer a wide range of architectural diversity.

The Aegean and the Mediterranean regions are particularly populated with the examples of ancient Greek architecture; The Grand Theatre of the Hellenistic period, which was built in 3 BC in the ancient city of Ephesus, and the Artemis Temple of the world’s seven wonders are must-visit architectural sites. The traces of ancient and late period Roman Empire architecture can be found in every region. The typical Roman architecture features, domes and arches, demonstrate the most advanced engineering techniques of their period. Thus, giant buildings constructed thousands of years ago are visited by an influx of tourists every year. One of the most magnificent structures in Anatolia is the majestic Sümele Monastery built on a mountainside. But undoubtedly, the most sophisticated and magnificent examples of the Roman architecture are located in Istanbul. Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, the Valens Aqueduct, and the Hippodrome which was the center for sporting events are among the most important works.

The Ottoman-era architecture, on the other hand, is heavily influenced by Roman and Seljuk architecture. The dome structure and general architecture of the Ottoman mosques carry the traces of Roman architecture, rather than Arabic mosques, solidified in Hagia Sophia; Seljuk architecture where their most sophisticated examples can be seen in Central Anatolia and Central Asian Turkic architecture. When one says Ottoman architecture, the first thing that comes to mind is Mimar Sinan, one of the few architects of the past with the most sophisticated works. Although Mimar Sinan, who succeeded building the most important works of the empire and was beyond his time with his engineering as well as aesthetic understanding, is well-known as the architect of the Süleymaniye Mosque in Istanbul. His most sophisticated work of the mastery period is Selimiye Mosque in Edirne. Compared with Michelangelo in the West, Mimar Sinan is priceless figure, whose Ottoman architecture was introduced to the world with his usage of semi-domes, strong columns, and placing circular domes into square, hexagonal and octagonal shapes as wells his use of artistic prowess in interior decoration.

The architectural understanding of the Turkish Republic, founded in 1923, rose not only on the legacy of the Ottomans, but also emerged as a result of westernization roots dating back to long ago. Therefore, the early republic architecture is heavily inspired by the Ottoman, German, and Austrian architecture. In the Republic era architecture, which progressed between traditional-modern, East-West, religious-secular influences, neoclassical Turkish style developed under the leadership of architect Kemalledin and Vedat Tek. In the 1920’s these architects facilitated the German and Austrian influence and was felt heavily in the 30’s and 40’s; the authentic local architectural style was developed from the 50’s to 70’s and a post-modern style influence was seen after 1980’s mainly under the leadership of the private sector.