如果你打算在冬季到土耳其西部一游,可以参加当地传统娱乐赛事——骆驼摔跤赛。如今,在重大节日和比赛场合,都会有骆驼摔跤环节,因为很受游客和当地居民的欢迎,经常吸引成千上万的观众前来观看。在爱琴海地区,特别是艾登市,有许多协会会在开阔的场地或体育场举办骆驼摔跤比赛。在穆拉省伊兹密尔区的塞尔丘克县也会举办这类赛事,尤其以旅游圣地,如博德鲁姆和代尼茲利而知名远播。在马尔马拉地区、地中海一带的恰纳卡莱和巴勒克埃西尔、安塔利亚、巴尔杜尔和伊斯帕尔塔等城市,也可以观看骆驼摔跤。

 

骆驼摔跤赛会让当地成为节日胜地,吸引许多游客从附近的居住地赶来观瞧。依照传统,摔跤骆驼在赛前都会披挂整齐,挂满铃铛和小䥽,以振士气。在通往赛场的路上,兴高采烈的大批观众队伍跟随骆驼穿城而过。清晨,广场上到处都是售卖各种食品、饮料、礼品的摊位;在等待比赛开始的同时,人们会打起鼓,吹响中东唢呐(一种高音管乐),载歌载舞。赛事组织协会为骆驼摔跤赛安排了管理委员会和裁判组,将赛事变成异彩纷呈的盛大活动。

 

观众观看比赛时,主持人“Cazgır”会绘声绘色地介绍赛事内容。Cazgır介绍比赛时的口吻宛若体育解说员,他会引经据典,诗词歌赋信手拈来,对骆驼大加赞赏,因其风格独特,他才是现实比赛中的重量级人物。在比赛开始之前,Cazgır会当场宣布骆驼的名称,将其一一介绍给观众,而骆驼也会向大家行礼致敬。一旦开赛,骆驼会大显身手,在各个环节设法击败对手。摔跤分为不同类别,骆驼可以通过迫使对手落荒而逃,大声尖叫或将对手推倒在地赢得比赛。摔跤比赛限时在10分钟左右,以使这一传统文化得到可持续发展,并保护骆驼免受伤害,因为有时双方会陷入恶战。比赛中获胜的骆驼会并住蹄子,向观众致敬,而大赛会为骆驼和主人颁奖。

 

据研究表明,中东和中亚地区骆驼摔跤的历史可以追溯到几千年前,在爱琴海地区,据悉这类比赛至少也已举办了两百年。骆驼摔跤是土耳其传统文化中重要的娱乐活动之一,与几百年来安纳托利亚古老的土库曼游牧文化息息相关,在当地,也称其为Yörük文化。在安纳托利亚,直到19世纪建成首条铁路之前,骆驼商队曾一度是最重要的运输方式,因而骆驼成为日常生活的重要组成部分。首个骆驼摔跤比赛是由将货物运到当地市集的骆驼商队举办的娱乐活动。随着时间的推移,这些摔跤比赛吸引了集市观众的注意,使其逐渐发展成为今天的大型盛事。

If you are planing to spend your Turkey trip in the western part of the country in winter months, you can attend a camel wrestling match, one of the traditional entertainment events in the region. Today, camel wrestling is practiced through major festivals and tournaments, attracting attention of both tourists and local people and drawing thousands of spectators.
Camel wrestling tournaments are organized in open fields or stadiums by many associations located in the Aegean region, especially in Aydın city. Competitions are also held in Selçuk district of İzmir, in Muğla, which is famous for its tourist destinations like Bodrum and in Denizli. In the Marmara region; Çanakkale and Balıkesir, in the Mediterranean region; Antalya, Burdur and Isparta are other cities where you can watch camel wrestling.

 

Camel wrestling competitions turn the region into a festival ground and attract many visitors from the nearby settlements. Traditionally, wrestling camels are decorated and draped with bells and zills before the fight in order to heighten the excitement. On the way to the tournament area, a large crowd of spectators parade through the city in a festive mood with camels. In the morning, the square is filled with stalls selling all kinds of foods, beverages and gifts; while waiting the games to start, people play local dances to folk music played by drum and zurna (shrill pipe) Competition organizing associations designate regulating committees and referee boards for camel wrestling tournaments to transform these big events into great organizations.

 

Competitions are narrated to the spectators in a very colourful language by a host called, “Cazgır.” Cazgır narrates the fights like a sports announcer, recites poems and praises the camels; thus, with his peculiar style, he is in reality the most important individual in the tournament. Before the fight, Cazgır announces the names of the camels and introduces them to the spectators and in turn camels salute the spectators. When the fight starts, camels begin to wrestle with different games to defeat the opponent. There are different wrestling categories and a camel can win a wrestling match either by forcing the opponent to flee, by making him scream or by pushing the opponent to the ground. Wrestling matches are restricted to about 10 minutes in order to make this traditional culture sustainable and to protect camels from injury in what sometimes become a quite harsh fight. The camel that wins a match puts his feet one next to the other and salutes the spectators, and the prize is presented to the camel and the owner.

 

According to some research, the roots of camel wrestling go back to thousands of years in the Middle East and Central Asia; in the Aegean region, it is known to be organized at least for two hundred years. Camel wrestling, one of the important entertainment elements of traditional Turkish culture, is based on hundreds of years old nomadic Turkmen culture of Anatolia, or what is locally known as Yörük culture. In Anatolia, the most important transportation method had been camel caravans until the first rail lines were constructed in the 19th century, and thus camels constituted an important part of the daily life. The first camel wrestling matches were organized for entertainment by camel caravaneers, who brought goods to the local bazaars. Over time, these wrestling competitions attracted the attention of bazaar-goers and they are gradually transformed into today’s large organizations.