胜利日

 

 

1922年8月30日是土耳其众多激烈战役的重要转折点,历史上著名的大反攻(Great Offensive ) 就在这一天发生,土耳其把这天定为胜利日(Victory Day),每年都举办庆祝活动。

 

胜利日可追溯到第一次世界大战结束时。当时,奥斯曼帝国属于战败国,被协约国联军占领。为结束这种被占领的局面,土耳其于1919年发动解放战争,其军队在多条战线上迎战各国。1921年萨卡里亚战役成功击退希腊军队,为土耳其的最终胜利打下了坚实基础。接下来,土耳其军队开始准备大反攻,弹药和士兵秘密集结到安纳托利亚(Anatolia),军队经过快速训练,并且动员了所有力量。土耳其军队在很短时间内完成备战部署,并于1922年8月26日对敌军发起进攻。

 

此次战役令爱琴海地区的希腊军队从阿菲永(Afyon) 败退到伊兹密尔(Izmir),并丢失全部据点,最终,土耳其在 8月30日取得胜利。

 

胜利日是继10月29日共和国成立日(Republic Day)之后,土耳其最重要的节日之一。

 

虽然当年土耳其不是在胜利日把所有联军军队赶出国境,但却为日后的胜利铺平了道路。土耳其人民在取得了历史性胜利之后,继续为驱除占领军而努力不懈 。由于大反攻的总司令是凯末尔(Mustafa Kemal),人们通常将这一天称为“总司令战役日”。

 

1923年,阿菲永、代尼兹利(Denizli)、卡赫拉曼马拉(Kahramanmaraş)、安卡拉和伊兹密尔等省份首次在8月30日举行庆典庆祝胜利日。至1935年,政府宣布将这一天定为公共假日,每年这天全国都有盛大的庆祝活动。

 

当天,人们将国旗悬挂在家中的阳台上或窗户外,以示爱国之情,并身穿精美服饰加入到附近的庆典行列中。土耳其军队也参与阅兵、演讲、游行及出席其它展览 。早上,空军举行扣人心弦的飞行表演;夜间,人们在街上参加花灯游行。官员和民众还前往安卡拉的穆斯塔法‧凯末尔·阿塔蒂尔克(Mustafa Kemal Atatürk)陵墓(土耳其语称为Anıtkabir)拜祭。如果你在土耳其旅行期间恰逢胜利日,可以加入庆祝的队伍,见证土耳其最重要的节日之一。

30th August 1922 was an important turning point in the challenging battles, leading to the founding of the Republic of Turkey. It was the date when the Great Offensive took place, ending in victory. Now, known as the Victory Day,  it is a national public holiday and is commemorated with various activities.  Victory Day  is one of the most important public holidays in Turkey, following the Republic Day on 29th October, which celebrates the proclamation of the Republic.

 

The history of Victory Day dates back to the end of the First World War. The Ottoman Empire was on the defeated side after the war and occupied by the Allies. In order to end this occupation, in 1919 the fight for liberation began. The Turkish army was fighting different nations on many fronts and in 1921 in the Battle of Sakarya the Turkish military managed to push back the Greek army.  Encouraged by the victory, the Turkish military began preparing for a major offensive battle.  For this “Great Offensive”, the Turkish army deployed weapons, ammunition and soldiers to Anatolia in secret; the troops were quickly trained, and all forces were mobilised. The Turkish military worked to carry out these preparations in a very short period and on 26th August 1922 it launched an attack on the enemy army.

 

The Greek army was pushed back in the Aegean region from Afyon to Izmir, and the Turkish army reclaimed all the territory which was formerly occupied by the Greek army.  Although 30th August was not the exact date when the occupying armies were completely driven out of the country’s territory, nevertheless it was the battle paving the way for the victory. Since the Great Offensive Day was under the leadership of  Mustafa Kemal, the Commander-in-Chief, it is known in Turkish, literally as the “Field Battle of the Commander-in-Chief”. However, in English, it is usually referred to as the “Battle of Dumlupınar”.

 

The Victory Day was first celebrated in 1923 in the provinces of Afyonkarahisar, Denizli, Kahramanmaraş, Ankara and Izmir, a year after the victory. Until 1935, it was officially celebrated throughout the country and became a national holiday.

 

For many years, the Victory Day has been officially celebrated in Turkey with ceremonies taking place throughout the country. People prepare by hanging Turkish flags from their balconies and out of the windows of their houses as a symbol of their pride, and dress in elaborate costumes to take part in the official celebration. During the official celebrations, troops from the Turkish Armed Forces take part in parades, speeches, demonstrations and other commemorating activities. Airforce planes carry out exciting performance during the morning and in the evening, and people take part in lantern processions through the streets. Also, statesmen and citizens conduct visits to Anıtkabir in Ankara, the mausoleum which houses the body of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. If your holiday in Turkey happens to coincide with this date, you can take part in the ceremonies, and witness one of the country’s most important days.