奥斯曼帝国的遗产

 

毫无疑问,数千年来,土耳其一直都是各大文明的融汇之地,这块土地上最后的一个古老文明——奥斯曼帝国留下了最为丰富的遗产。奥斯曼帝国留下的不仅仅是文化遗产:在很多人看来,土耳其共和国其实就是奥斯曼帝国的延续。在今天的土耳其,与这一主题相关的文化和政治争论仍然是热点。较保守的观点认为,土耳其应遵循奥斯曼帝国的各项文化遗产,包括外交政策;更加现代的观点认为,土耳其应与过去的奥斯曼决裂。这两派的争论在土耳其文化的发展历程中留下了深深的痕迹。从某种意义上来说,奥斯曼帝国的遗产并非历史书上尘封的过去,更是现在土耳其文化和政治生活的最新课题。

 

奥斯曼帝国历史上最令人瞩目的遗产,毫无疑问是在文化领域——尤其是在建筑方面。在奥斯曼帝国的首都伊斯坦布尔,其宏伟的奥斯曼风格建筑依然是这个国家的一种象征和一份灵感之源。伊斯坦布尔可以说就是活生生的奥斯曼历史的露天博物馆,漫步在这个历史悠久的半岛的街道上,时常可以呼吸到遥远帝国的气息。

 

毫不夸张地讲,时至今天奥斯曼帝国的文明在传统的音乐、手工艺和文学上依然影响巨大。奥斯曼文化与伊斯兰文化的关系实质也是土耳其一大热点话题。有些人认为在很大程度上奥斯曼文化等同于伊斯兰文化;而另一些人强调奥斯曼世界文化和宗教具有多元性。在共和国初年,西方文化潮流曾呈现上升势头,到了20世纪80年代时地位又有所下降,而奥斯曼等传统文化再度受到社会广泛关注。

 

在共和国的历史和政治发展中,您可以很轻易地发现奥斯曼帝国遗留下的各种痕迹。19世纪,奥斯曼帝国的西化努力开启了共和国之路。人们普遍认为,土耳其申请进入欧盟的政策,土耳其与西方国家结盟的政策总体上是奥斯曼政策的延续。另一方面,土耳其共和国也接手了奥斯曼帝国遗留下的一系列问题:塞浦路斯问题、与希腊的紧张关系以及库尔德问题等等,这充分说明奥斯曼帝国历史对当代土耳其共和国具有深远的影响。

 

整个19世纪,奥斯曼帝国在不断进行改革,最终使得帝国的行政结构更加现代化。这种行政现代化为新的机构的诞生铺平了道路,共和国的开国元勋从中获益良多。因此,一些历史学家强调奥斯曼帝国深刻影响了现代土耳其的行政结构。但是很公允的说法是,奥斯曼的历史和共和国之间既存在决裂也有着传承。

Although the lands of Turkey have been home to a series of major civilizations throughout thousands of years, without doubt, the last civilization, Ottoman Empire has left the largest legacy. In fact, far beyond a mere legacy, the Turkish Republic is widely regarded as a continuation of the Ottoman Empire and thus cultural and political controversies surrounding this subject are still topical in today’s Turkey. The debate between the more conservative view that Turkey should follow the cultural legacies of the Ottoman Empire, for example in the foreign policy, and the more modernist view that Turkey should break with the Ottoman past leaves a strong mark on the cultural world of the country. Thus, Ottoman legacy is not a subject forgotten on the dusty pages of the history books, rather one of the most current subjects in the cultural and political life of Turkey.

 

The most vivid legacies of the Ottoman history, without doubt, can be seen in the cultural sphere, especially in architecture. In particular, the grandeur Ottoman buildings in the capital of the Ottoman Empire, in İstanbul, still provide an identity and a source of inspiration for the country. İstanbul, in fact, is an open-air museum of the living Ottoman history, and it is possible to breath the atmosphere of the Empire in the daily life while walking on the streets of the historical peninsula.

 

It won’t be an exaggeration to say that Ottoman legacies still have strong imprints on the traditional music, handicrafts and literature. At the same time, one of the ongoing debates in the country is the nature of the relationship of the Ottoman culture with the Islamic culture. Some views largely equate the Ottoman culture with the Islamıc culture, while others emphasize the multicultural, multi-religion nature of the Ottoman world. Western cultural currents, which had gained momentum in the early years of the Republic, declined in 1980s and cultural motives akin to the Ottoman culture have gained weight again.

 

The imprints of the Ottoman legacies on the historical and political developments of the Republican era can also be easily seen. Westernization efforts of the Ottoman Empire in the 19th century have gained momentum in the Republican era. It is a widespread view that Turkey’s application to enter the European Union and, in general, Turkey’s policies of establishing alliances with the Western states have been continuation of the Ottoman policies. On the other side of the coin, Turkish Republic has inherited a series of problems from the Ottoman Empire. The Cyprus problem, tensions with Greece and the Kurdish problem are among the subjects that show how deep the impact of the Ottoman history lays on the contemporary Turkish Republic.

 

The reforms carried out in the Ottoman Empire throughout the 19th century resulted in the modernization of especially the administrative structure of the Empire. This administrative modernization paved the way for the establishment of the new institutions, in which the founding fathers of the Republic received their education. For this reason, some historians emphasize the deep imprints of the Ottoman Empire on the administrative structures of the modern Turkey. Consequently, it is fair to say that there is both a break and continuity between the Ottoman history and the Republic.