步入诺贝尔文学奖得主土耳其作家奥尔罕·帕慕克的小说世界,无疑是深刻了解土耳其最好的方式之一。世界公认的大作家帕慕克以讲述故事见长,他通过文化背景下的代际冲突(代沟)和东西方问题的相关故事来反映土耳其的历史。2006年他获得了诺贝尔文学奖,同年被《时代》杂志评选为“全球最有影响力的100人”之一。帕慕克的文学作品已被翻译成63种语言,出版了1千3百万册,作品得到广大文学爱好者所了解,而且拥有了更广大的读者群体。在获得诺贝尔奖之前,他被授予了法国最佳外国书籍奖、意大利格林扎纳·卡佛文学奖(2002年)、2003年被授予国际IMPAC都柏林文学奖。此外,他的小说《雪花》(Snow) 2004年被纽约时报评选为十佳书籍之一。

 

奥尔罕·帕慕克的作品属于后现代小说。土耳其最重要的文学史家之一亚莱·帕尔拉(Jale Parla)在著作《从堂吉诃德到今天的小说》(Novels from Don Quixote to Present Day)中,从比较文学的角度分析了帕穆克的作品。她指出帕慕克在土耳其文学的发展中起到了重要作用。帕慕克偏爱将东西问题作为他小说的题材:在小说《黑书》(The Black Book)中,他营造了扣人心弦的氛围,让人深切感受到伊斯坦布尔这座城市,它的街道和它的历史。众所周知,帕慕克有着深厚的历史底蕴,在他的著作《塞夫得特州长和他的儿子们》(Cevdet Bey and Sons)中,他描了住在Nisantasi街区的一家三代人,这个街区推崇西方生活方式。帕慕克从小在Nisantasi区的大家族里长大,这本书以他自己的生活为蓝本。帕慕克不仅描述故事还坦诚自己,这赢得了读者的赞赏与尊敬。他最受欢迎的一本书是《新人生》(New Life),书中讲述了大学生被一本神秘的书影响的故事。 《我的名字叫红》(My Name Is Red)是一个​​关于奥斯曼帝国和波斯细密画家的故事。

 

奥尔罕·帕慕克出生于1952年,在伊斯坦布尔市Nisantasi区长大。童年时,帕慕克学过绘画,并一直希望成为一名画家。他开始学的是建筑专业,后来改学新闻学。然而,帕慕克后来的职业既不是设计师,也不是记者,而是最终决定成为作家。1974年,他开始了写作生涯。帕慕克凭借小说创作赢得了众多奖项,有段时间他为报纸《Taraf》撰写专栏文章。 2007年5月,帕慕克获任第60届戛纳电影节评委。虽然帕慕克不时撰写文章批评权力、自由等问题,但他一直与政治保持距离。除了个别时间外,这位作家一直生活在伊斯坦布尔的不同区域,现在依然继续在伊斯坦布尔生活。

 

诺贝尔文学奖得主帕慕克的书不仅仅是有意思的文学作品,读者还可以从中了解到作者对伊斯坦布尔深刻的洞察。在小说中,作者不仅讲述自己国家的特质、事件和问题,还凭借其先锋的写作风格,激起读者对于不同文化和普遍性问题的兴趣。对于喜欢土耳其文学和热爱伊斯坦布尔的人来说,奥尔罕·帕慕克的著作是不二之选。

其他消息

One of the most profound way to get to know Turkey is, without doubt, to step into the world of Nobel Prize-winning Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk’s novels. Pamuk is an important author recognised world-wide for his storytelling genius, presenting the history of this country through tales of generation conflict and East-West problems in a culturally universal context. He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2006, and in the same year was voted by TIME magazine as one of “the world’s 100 most influential people”. Lovers of literature already knew his work but he has now succeeded in reaching a more widespread audience. Pamuk’s literary works have been translated into sixty-three languages and has published thirteen millions copies. Before receiving the Nobel prize, he had been awarded with the Prix Du Meilleur Livre Etranger in France, the Grinzane Cavour in Italy (2002) and the International Impac-Dublin award in 2003. In addition, his novel titled ‘Snow’ was selected as one of the best 10 books of 2004 by The New York Times Book Review.

 

Orhan Pamuk’s novels are considered to be in the post-modern novel category. In her book, ‘Novels from Don Quixote to Present Day’, one of Turkey’s most important literary historians, Jale Parla, reviewed Pamuk’s work in terms of comparative literature and noted that he had an important role in the development of Turkish literature. Pamuk especially uses the problems of East-West as subject matter in his novels. In his ‘The Black Book’ novel, he excites you with the atmosphere so that you can feel Istanbul, its streets and its history. Pamuk is also known for shedding light on history and in his book ‘Cevdet Bey and Sons’, he writes of three generations of a family living in the Nisantasi neighborhood which is known for its Western lifestyle. The book is based on his own life as someone who grew up in a large family in Nisantasi. By describing not only events but himself as well, Pamuk has won the admiration of readers. One of his most popular books is ‘New Life’ which tells the story of university students influenced by a mysterious book. ‘My Name Is Red’ is a story about Ottoman and Persian miniaturists.

 

Orhan Pamuk was born in 1952 and grew up in Istanbul’s Nisantasi. Throughout his childhood, Pamuk painted and desired to be a painter. He studied architecture but dropped out to study journalism. However, Pamuk worked as neither an architect nor a journalist and he decided to become a writer. He started writing in 1974. Pamuk has won many awards for his novels, and for a time he wrote a column in the Taraf newspaper. In May 2007, Pamuk was on the jury at the 60th Cannes Film Festival. Although Pamuk has written articles on issues such as freedom of rights from time to time, with a criticizing point of view, he has remained distant from politics. Apart from a brief period away, the author has spent his life living in various parts of Istanbul and continues to live in Istanbul.

 

Nobel laureate Pamuk’s books are an important source and provide a meaningful insight into Istanbul for those who wish to read about it in literature. The author not only draws upon the characteristics, events and problems of his own country in his novels, but also piques the reader’s interest with an avantgard style of writing about different cultures and universal problems. Orhan Pamuk’s books are a definite must for those who like Turkish literature and love Istanbul.

Other News