在佩加蒙古城,开启激动人心的历史之旅

 

如果您计划去土耳其壮观的爱琴海海岸边度假,佩加蒙古城绝对是参观古迹的上上之选。这座位于伊兹密尔白加孟区的古代城市是爱琴海地区最大的城市,您可以在古城灿烂的历史遗迹中来一场真实的历史漫步。最初兴建这座古城是用来作为阿塔力德王朝的首都,后来它成了佩加蒙王国的首都——佩加蒙在罗马帝国时期曾短暂地作为该地区的首府。今天,古城中遍布着无数不同时代的建筑遗迹,很大一部分人工遗迹展列在欧洲的博物馆中。2014年,佩加蒙古城被联合国教科文组织评选为世界遗产。

 

 

这座古城由三部分组成:上卫城、下卫城和卫城周边区域。执政者的住所、雅典娜神庙、1万个座位的希腊式剧场、酒神寺、贝加马图书馆、圣殿广场和皇宫都座落在佩加蒙卫城(上卫城)。佩加蒙大坛是这座城市最重要的文物之一,在19世纪下半叶被送往德国,至今仍陈列在柏林的佩加蒙博物馆内。下卫城里是对公众开放的建筑及各项设施,有各种各样的游乐设施以及进行体育比赛的体育馆。此外,德米特庙、阿斯克勒庇俄斯圣殿等建筑也坐落于这一城市片区。大部分城市居民居住在卫城周围区域,多元化的住宅建筑和埃及神塞拉皮斯的祭祀神庙是这一带的特色。

 

 

该城始建于公元前3世纪,是阿塔力德王朝的首都,曾在较短的历史时期内是重要的文化、政治和学术中心。佩加蒙是古希腊时期最重要的城市之一,公元前133年纳入罗马帝国治下,之后成为罗马帝国亚洲省的首都。该城的许多重要建筑均建于古罗马时期。然而,随着城市中心向以弗所转移,它开始失去其中心地位。随着罗马帝国分为东西两部分,商业和政治活动转移到北方的君士坦丁堡(伊斯坦布尔),佩加蒙逐渐变成一个中等城市。

 

佩加蒙古城位于白加孟区,距离伊兹密尔市中心77公里。如果您想在旅途中到访佩加蒙,首先您必须先乘飞机、巴士或开车抵达伊兹密尔,然后您可以乘坐伊兹密尔的公共交通ESHOT线或开车遵循地图前往。在古城所在的地区,溪流、湖泊、山脉和平原的风光也饱受赞誉,因此在享受历史文化之旅外,您还可以尽情享受这里各种壮丽的自然风光。

If you are planning to spend your Turkey holiday on the magnificent seacoasts of Aegean Region, you should give priority to Pergamon Ancient City as one of the uppermost ancient destinations to visit. You may take a real historical excursion among the splendid historical remains of the ancient city located in the district of Bergama of Izmir, the largest city of Aegean Region. First founded as the capital of Attalid dynasty, then became the capital of Kingdom of Pergamon, Pergamon has been the region’s capital during the Roman imperial period for a short period of time. Today a significant part of the artifacts of the ancient city that possessed ruins of countless structures from different eras are exhibited in European museums. Pergamon Ancient City has also been inscribed as the World Heritage by UNESCO in 2014.

 

The city is formed of three parts, Upper Acropolis, Lower Acropolis, and at foot of Acropolis. In the Pergamon Acropolis (Upper Acropolis) where the ruling population resided, the Sanctuary of Athena, the Hellenistic Theater with a seating capacity of 10,000, the Temple of Dionysus, the Library of Pergamum, the Sanctuary of Agora and the Royal Palace exist. The Great Altar of Pergamon, one of the most important artifacts of the city, has been taken to Germany in the second half of 19th century and is still exhibited in Pergamon Museum in Berlin. In the Lower Acropolis where structures accessible to public are located, there are various sizes of recreational facilities called Gymnasium where sports competitions are held. In addition to this, structures such as the Temple of Demeter, the Sanctuary of Asclepius are also located in this part of the city. At foot of Acropolis, where majority of the city population lived, houses with diversified architecture and the temple dedicated to the Egyptian god Serapis are the notable structures.

 

The city was founded as the capital of the Attalid dynasty in the 3rd century BC attesting its long history and became a substantial cultural, political and academic center in a short period of time. Pergamon was one of the most important cities in the Hellenistic period and came under the rule of Roman Empire in 133 BC, which then became the imperial capital of province of Asia. Many significant structures were built in the city during the Roman period; however, it started to lose its centric feature with the transfer of city center to Ephesus. Pergamon gradually became a middle-sized city with the separation of Roman Empire into West and East and with the commercial and political activities moving to north, Constantinopolis (Istanbul).

 

If you wish to visit Pergamon during your trip, first of all, you will have to arrive in Izmir by plane, bus or car. It is possible for you to arrive in this ancient city of Bergama district, located 77 kilometers away from Izmir city center, either by Izmir’s public transportation called ESHOT lines or by your car with a map in hand. The region where the ancient city is located has also a reputation for its streams, lakes, mountains and plains and offers a variety of options for you to savor the magnificent nature on top of your historical trip.