塞利米耶清真寺(Selimiye Mosque),也被称为“城市之冠”,是奥斯曼最恢弘 的建筑典范之一,闻名海内外。它具有独特、精致而杰出的构造,占地面积广,拥有众多窗户,让阿亚索菲亚清真寺(Hagia Sophia)相形见绌。这些窗户让丰富、迷人的光线洒入清真寺。就像画家伦伯朗(Rembrandt)在画中运用布光法一样,建筑师希南(Sinan)将类似的手法运用在这清真寺上。这座建筑被视为16世纪奥斯曼帝国的富庶与政治实力的缩影,被称为“最后的苏丹建筑”。在奥斯曼苏丹塞利姆二世(Selim II)的要求下,建筑师希南于1568年开始建造塞利米耶清真寺。工程共历时七年。希南将这座建筑称为“毕生杰作”。人们凡是第一次看到这座清真寺,无疑都会被深深震撼。这座清真寺在2000年入选联合国教科文组织的《世界遗产预备名录》,并于2011年入选《世界遗产名录》。

 

塞利米耶清真寺坐落在埃迪尔内最近开发的住宅区中心,现在归属于苏丹塞利姆基金会(Sultan Selim Foundation)。塞利米耶清真寺的游客常说,建筑师希南真正懂得如何支配都市景观,为清真寺选择了最好最美丽的位置。清真寺建筑内体现了卓越智慧、创意设计和技术,建于面积约为2,475平方米的区域之上,共有384个窗户,因而采光面积很大。清真寺内有许多宗教符号,例如,在九扇门上均画有《古兰经》诗节。穹顶的结构与别处的清真寺十分不同,因此游客常常将这座建筑与阿亚索菲亚清真寺进行比较。塞利米耶清真寺的唯一一个穹顶由八根柱子支撑,这些柱子的风格被称为“大象的脚”。穹顶的直径为31.28米,高为15.86米,因此显得非常宏伟庄严。

 

塞利米耶清真寺光彩夺目,外部构造和装饰艺术品配合到位,令人印象深刻。这座清真寺带有非常精致的大理石、饰面砖石、木饰面,就像一个艺术品,绝对值得参观。它的四个尖塔非常宏伟,迎着前来参观的游客。塞利米耶清真寺还有一座藏经阁,里面藏有2800 件手写作品和57 件印刷作品。

 

这座清真寺最神秘、最迷人特征之一是某区域上的“倒立郁金香”图案。对此,历史学家至今无法完全理解。关于郁金香图案,人们普遍认为,这座清真寺所在之处原先是一座花园,花园主人被迫将花园卖掉用于建造清真寺。据说,郁金香图案可能是一个象征,以示对这位不幸的主人的同情,这便是为何郁金香图案是倒立的缘由。

 

摄影爱好者如果想拍摄一张气势恢弘的塞利米耶清真寺全景照,应在日落时拍摄。清真寺坐落在埃迪尔内中心地带,因此交通便利。实际上,我们建议前来伊斯坦布尔的游客也应该在埃迪尔内逗留一下,参观塞利米耶清真寺。在埃迪尔内旅游期间,务必尝尝埃迪尔内的炒肝、有“女人大腿”之称的肉球、mutancana(奥斯曼羔羊肉和干果一起煮成的菜肴)、mamzana(茄子、西红柿、辣椒混合制成的沙拉)、希腊moussaka等当地美食。

The Selimiye Mosque, which is known as the ‘crown of the city’, has earned its name by being one of the most splendid examples of Ottoman architecture. The Mosque’s unique, refined and masterful structure, occupies a vast area, and the huge number of its windows, left the reputation of Hagia Sophia in the shade. These windows allow, the mosque to be flooded with great, enchanting light. In the same way, as Rembrandt used his skill with light in his paintings, so the architect Sinan achieved a similar effect in the mosque. This architecture is seen as a projection of the magnificence and political strength of the Ottoman Empire in the 16th century and is known as the “last sultan’s building”. The construction of the Selimiye Mosque was begun in 1568 by the architect Sinan at the request of the Ottoman Sultan Selim II. It took seven years to complete the construction and Sinan referred to this building as his “masterpiece”. The beauty of the mosque undoubtedly has an influence on those who witness it. In the year 2000 it was listed by UNESCO on its “Provisional World Heritage List” and in 2011 it was taken on to the “World Heritage List”.

 

The Selimiye Mosque is in the centre of Edirne’s newly developed neighbourhood and now belongs to the Sultan Selim Foundation.
Those who come to see the Selimiye Mosque frequently say that the Architect Sinan, who understood how to dominate the urban landscape, chose the best and most beautiful position for the mosque. In the building of the mosque is displayed a superior intelligence combined with creative design and technique. The mosque has 384 windows and is built on a vast area of some 2,475 metres square, creating a huge area of light. In the interior of the mosque can be found many Islamic religious symbols. For example on nine doors, which are located in the mosque, reference is made to some verses in the Quran. The structure of the dome is entirely different from those in other mosques, and for this reason, its architecture is always compared with Hagia Sophia by tourists. The Selimiye Mosque is covered with a single dome resting on eight pillars, of a style known as ‘elephants’ feet’. With a diameter of 31.28 metres and a height of 15.86 metres, this dome appears very spacious and serene.

 

The Selimiye Mosque is dazzling, with the combination of its impressive external architecture and its decorative artwork. It is a work of art, which is worth visiting, with its exceptionally detailed marble craftsmanship, decorative tiles and stone and wood detail. As you head directly towards the mosque, its four magnificent minarets greet you. There is also a library in the Selimiye Mosque, which is home to 2800 pieces of hand-written and 57 printed works.

 

One of the most fascinating and mysterious details of the mosque is the “reverse tulip” motif, which is used in one section of the building and is still not completely understood by historians. Concerning the motif, it is generally believed that to build the mosque, the owner of a tulip garden which was situated on the current site of the mosque, was forced to sell his garden. It is said that the tulip pattern could be a symbol to show sympathy with the unfortunate owner, which is why it has been made in reverse.

 

Keen photographers who wish to add a unique photo to their collection should take a picture of the imposing silhouette of the Selimiye Mosque at sunset. Since the mosque is located in the centre of Edirne, it is very easy to access, and in fact, we would recommend that those visiting Istanbul should also stop in Edirne and visit the Selimiye Mosque. While you are there, don’t forget to try Edirne’s fried liver, ‘ladies’ thighs’ meatballs, ‘mutancana’ (an Ottoman lamb dish cooked with dried fruits) ‘mamzana’ (a salad made with aubergine, tomato and pepper), Greek moussaka and many other delicious regional dishes.