苏美拉修道院(Sümela Monastery)建于岩石之上,被大自然紧密包围,平添一层神秘面纱。它是地球上最古老、最美丽的修道院之一,关于它还流传着一个古老的传说, 让这座修道院更添一份神秘感。

 

相传,苏美拉修道院最初只是一座教堂,但有两位分别名为Barnabas和Sophronios的希腊修士都做了一个相同的梦。这两位修士梦见已失踪多年的著名圣母玛利亚圣像(圣卢克使徒(Apostle Luke)所绘)会在此地找到。随后这两位修士来到苏美拉修道院如今的所在地,这个梦让特拉布宗(Trabzon)的希腊国王阿列克谢三世(Alexios III)信服, 于是下令把教堂改建为修道院。在变为修道院之前,这座教堂已有约1000年的历史 。

 

苏美拉修道院地处特拉布宗省Maçka区,建于山巅之上(这座山脉古时称为Mela山,这也是修道院的名称由来) 。希腊语中“Stou mela”意为“Mela之上”,而苏美拉修道院得名于希腊方言叫法“Sou-mela”。人们认为,修道院建于公元365年至395年。由于修道院为圣母玛利亚圣像而建,因此供奉圣母玛利亚,当地人也称之为“圣母玛利亚修道院”。

 

苏美拉修道院历经几个世纪的洗礼,融合多个文明。东罗马帝国时期,修道院用作教育场所,据说加冕典礼也在此处的著名圣像前举行。奥斯曼帝国时期,修道院也起到重要作用。奥斯曼苏丹王在多年间向修道院奉上各种礼物,对历史悠久的修道院表示敬意,包括苏丹塞利姆一世奉上两支大烛台 。1923年,修道院不再适合居住,自此被废弃 。2010年,土耳其政府在时隔88年后首次批准组织一场庆典庆祝“圣母玛利亚升天日”,由芬内尔(Fener)的希腊东正教主教主持典礼。

 

苏美拉修道院屹立于Panagia河畔的山巅岩石上,海拔1,150米,自然环境极其险峻。修道院的建筑仿照卡帕多西亚的教堂而建造,包括岩石教堂、小教堂、厨房、圣泉、藏经阁、客房、学生房间、此外还有一处现已沦为废墟的水渠。在修道院内四处转转,你会发现不同文明交汇的迹象(尤其是从艺术角度而言)。修道院最重要的特征是壁画。从壁画可以发现三种文明。教堂墙上画有各种图案,从圣母玛利亚到使徒们,从亚当夏娃到上帝创造天地,无所不包。

 

游客不能从特拉布宗开车直达修道院。前往修道院的途中,必须在半路下车,沿着一条路穿越森林,与大自然亲密接触。这条路是一条窄窄的梯级,蜿蜒通往修道院,登山的过程也十分刺激,因而步行本身也颇有趣味。在步行途中,你会经过一间饭馆,可休息片刻,一边欣赏别致的景色,一边享用颇具代表性的道地美食。千万不要错过品尝美味的黑海早餐的机会。土耳其政府目前正在翻修苏美拉修道院,完工后每年可吸引成千上万的国内外游客来此欣赏这一充满历史气息的美景。

 

苏美拉修道院在翻修期间暂停对外开放,预计将于2016年末或2017年初重新对外开放。请在旅行前确认其是否已重新开放。

The building itself, constructed in the midst of the rocks, combined with its natural setting lends Sümela Monastery a mystical appearance. It is one of the oldest and most beautiful monasteries on earth. According to legend, the current site of the Sümela Monastery was once a church, but two monks named Barnabas of Athens and Sophronios had the same dream, which persuaded the Greek Emperor of Trabzon, Alexios III to build the monastery. It is believed that before the monastery was built, the church had been there for a century.

 

In their dreams, the two monks foresaw that the most famous Virgin Mary painting by Apostle Luke, which had been lost for many years, was to be found. According to the clues in their dreams, they went to the place where the Sümela Monastery is now located.

 

The Sümela Monastery is in the province of Trabzon in the district of Maçka, and its name came from its location where was previously known as Mela Mountain. In Greek “Stou mela” means “on Mela”. The present name of the monastery originally came from the Greek dialect as “Sou-mela” (Sümela). It is believed that the monastery was built between AD 365-395. As the reason for constructing the monastery was the icon of the Virgin Mary, so the monastery is dedicated to the Virgin Mary and is also known locally as the “Monastery of the Virgin Mary”.

 

Throughout the centuries, the Sümela Monastery has been influenced by many different civilisations. During the time of the Eastern Roman Emperor, it was used as a place for education and coronation ceremonies. During the date of the Ottoman Empire, the monastery also played a significant role. To show respect to the Monastery, the Ottoman sultans bestowed a variety of gifts on the monastery over many years. Sultan Selim I gave a gift of two large candlesticks and is known to be amongst those who undertook restoration work. In 1923, the monastery was no longer liveable, and the monks had abandoned it. In 2010, 88 years later, for the first time, with the approval of the Turkish Government, a ceremony was organised for the day of the “Ascension of the Virgin Mary” officiated by the Fener Greek Orthodox Patriarch.

 

The Sümela Monastery was built on the top of rocks atop of a hill on the banks of the Panagia river, 1,150 metres above sea level. Considered from the perspective of its natural surroundings it is in an extremely challenging area. The architecture of the monastery resembles that of the churches of Cappadocia. The Sümela Monastery consists of a rock church, chapels, kitchen, holy spring, library, guest house and students’ rooms and there is also an aqueduct which has been unearthed in a state of ruin.

 

As you wander around inside, it is possible to see the traces of different cultures, especially from an artistic perspective. One of the most important features of the monastery is that the interior is covered in frescoes, and these murals tell three distinct periods. There are many enchanting drawings on the walls, from the figure of the Virgin Mary to the Disciples, from Adam and Eve to the creation.

 

It is not possible to drive from Trabzon right up to the monastery. To reach the monastery, at a certain point you will need to get out of your vehicle and follow a path through the midst of the forest. The narrow staircase, which forms part of the road, leads an exciting twist to the route to the monastery and the walk itself becomes part of the attraction.

 

On your way, you will come across restaurants where you can take a rest, enjoy the unique views and sample local dishes. You should seek out the opportunity to experience an excellent Black Sea breakfast. The Sümela Monastery is currently undergoing restoration by the Republic of Turkey, which will enable this historic beauty to be visited by thousands of domestic and foreign tourists every year.

 

It is currently closed to visitors while this restoration work takes place. It is scheduled to re-open late 2016 or early 2017 so do check before planning your visit.