古代爱琴海文明的奇迹:阿耳忒弥斯神庙

 

被称为世界第七大奇迹之一的阿尔忒弥斯神庙(Temple of Artemis)是古希腊最重要的建筑,它位于以弗所古城,邻近现在土耳其伊兹密尔市(İzmir)的塞尔丘克(Selçuk)区。阿尔忒弥斯神庙是世界上第一座完全用大理石建造的寺院,据说是由吕底亚王国的克里萨斯(Croesus of Lydia)国王于公元前550年进行兴建的。该神庙既是宗教崇拜的场所,也是当地集市,几乎所有古希腊的著作都将其描述为宏伟而壮丽的独特建筑。

 

公元前7世纪,神庙原址上较小的神庙被洪水冲毁后,开始兴建阿尔忒弥斯神殿。公元前356年,在一场历史悲剧之后,新的阿尔忒弥斯神庙被摧毁,这成为了西方国家的集体记忆的一部分:一位名为赫洛斯塔图斯(Herostratus)的以弗所居民,为了可以出名——哪怕是可以在史上臭名远扬也在所不惜——将神庙付之一炬。神庙因此被彻底摧毁了。事发后,以弗所的公民判处赫洛斯塔图斯死刑并宣布禁止提及他的名字。尽管颁布了禁令,那个时代的历史学家还是在文献中记下了他的名字,他的名字因此成为欧洲文化的一部分。以至于后来,英德文学中创作了许多为了出名而犯罪的赫洛斯塔图斯之流。

 

据悉,神庙被毁的日子也是亚历山大大帝的生日。为此,亚历山大大帝曾意欲资助重建神庙,但以弗所的公民们拒绝了他的提议,并于公元前323年开始自力更生重建神庙。最后建成的神庙长137米,宽69米,有127根18米高的柱子承托屋顶。神庙装饰有青铜和大理石的雕像,均出自当时最有名的雕塑家之手;神庙内有许多物件都是精美绝伦的艺术品。神庙是当时吸引人群最多的、最重要的社会中心之一,也是款待国王和地位显要的贵客、商人的场所。

 

公元268年,神庙最后被毁于一次哥特人的突袭行动。在这次入侵及被毁后,再没有确切的信息说明是否得以再次重建。这座神庙纪念的阿尔忒弥斯女神与古希腊神话中的阿尔忒弥斯女神有所不同:以弗所的阿尔忒弥斯是生育女神,一些历史学家指出,她与安纳托利亚母亲女神西布莉(Cybele)非常相似。今天在以弗所古城发现的阿尔忒弥斯雕像是一尊柱状雕塑,展现的是一位有着多个乳房的女神。

 

19世纪英国考古学家在神庙遗址发掘出土的雕塑残件和器物几乎都陈列于大英博物馆的阿尔忒弥斯馆。在伊兹密尔附近的塞尔丘克区,神庙遗址所在处目前仅有几块大理石还矗立在原址。在伊斯坦布尔米尼亚塔克(Miniatürk)公园,您可以看到阿尔忒弥斯神庙的模型,一览神庙当年雄伟壮丽的风姿。

The Temple of Artemis, one of the most important structures of the ancient Greek and one of the Seven Wonders of the World, was located in the ancient city of Ephesus, near the Selçuk district of İzmir in contemporary Turkey. Artemis, the first temple in the world constructed completely with marble, is thought to be built in 550 BC by the king Croesus of Lydia. The temple, used both for religious worship and as a bazaar ground, is cited in all ancient Greek texts as a unique, magnificent and glorious building.

 

After the destruction of a smaller temple by flood located at the site of Artemis by flood in the 7th century B.C., construction of the Temple of Artemis began. Later, the new temple, Artemis, was destroyed in 356 BC after a historical tragedy that has become a part of the collective memory of the western countries ever since. A man living in Ephesus, named Herostratus, set the Temple on fire in order to gain notoriety and to go down in history. The Temple was completely destroyed. After the incident, the citizens of Ephesus sentenced Herostratus to death and forbade anyone from uttering his name. However, despite this ban, historians of the era recorded his name, which has in time become a part of the European culture. As a continuation of his legacy, Herostratus lives in German and English literature as someone who commits a crime for fame.

 

It is believed that the day of the destruction of the Temple was also the birthday of Alexander the Great. For this reason, Alexander offered to rebuild the temple, but citizens of Ephesus declined his offer and later on started to rebuild the Temple themselves in 323 B.C. This last Temple had 137 meters length, 69 meters width with 127 columns with 18 meters height supporting the roof. It was decorated with bronze and marble statues carved by the most famous sculptors of the time; it also hosted many objects or arts. The Temple was one of the most important centers of attraction of the era and served as a host where notable merchants and kings were entertained.

 

The temple was destroyed the last time during a raid by the Goths in 268 A.D. and there is no precise information if it was rebuilt again or not after the invasion. The goddess of Artemis, after whom the Temple was named, has certain distinctive features from the goddess of Artemis in the ancient Greek mythology. Artemis of Ephesus was goddess of fertility and some historians point out that she has great similarities with the Anatolian mother goddess, Cybele. The Artemis statue found at the Ephesus ancient city today represents the goddess with a figure with many breasts over a column.

 

Almost all of the fragments of the sculptures and artifacts excavated at the site of the Temple by British archeologists in the 19th century, are displayed in the Artemis Room of the British Museum. At the site of the Temple, near Selçuk district of İzmir, on the other hand, there are only two marble pieces. A model of the Temple of Artemis, is displayed in İstanbul at the Miniatürk park.